OPOL - What's a good age to switch to the majority language in social situations?

(8 Posts)
stickygotstuck Thu 11-Apr-13 19:39:22

Hello All,

Just that, really.

DD is 4yo. Her bilingualism is pretty balanced at the moment, but we have always made a big effort. I always speak to her in the minority language, even when we are surrounded by English speakers (English being the majority language).

I am wondering how old will she have to be (if ever) before we can 'afford' to use the majority language instead in social situations?

Anybody with first hand experience out there?

Thank you!

NeoMaxiZoomDweebie Thu 11-Apr-13 22:10:34

I'm not an expert but there are a number of bilingual children in my DDs reception class. Their parents speak to them in English when they're at parties and things...I noticed at nursery when they were 3 and 4, they used French or whatever...now it's English as that's what the children are speaking all day and with their peers too.

mamij Thu 11-Apr-13 22:14:55

DD1 (3 years 5 months) prefers to use her mother tongue to speak to me in most situations (although now more confident in English in social situations). I will probably continue to use our mother tongue until she stops using it with me!

DD2 (17 months) is too young to care smile

BackforGood Thu 11-Apr-13 22:26:53

IME children tend to automatically 'switch' to what they are used to speaking with the people they are with - I don't think it's an age thing particularly. So, if they speak English as Nursery or school, then they would automatically speak English to those people, wherever they saw them, but if Grandma walked into the same room, and the child was used to speaking to them in {Hungarian? French ? Urdu? Patois?} then they would speak to her in the language they usually speak to her, even if in the same room.