Welsh Learners Chat and Support Thread

(464 Posts)
alexpolismum Sat 03-Mar-12 14:50:38

Diolch cardibach for the idea!

I'm just getting started as a learner so that's my limit in Welsh so far!

This is where we can chat, use our Welsh as we are learning and give each other help/ advice/ encouragement, etc. smile

mamas12 Sat 03-Mar-12 14:58:00

wel helo pawb
croeso i Cymru ac yr Iaeth!

welcome to Wales and the Language

mamas12 Sat 03-Mar-12 14:59:30

My spoken welsh is good, people are surprised when they find out I'm a learner but my written welsh is not, so I will be getting things wrong so please correct me if you see anything ok.

alexpolismum Sat 03-Mar-12 15:11:48

helo mamas12! My Welsh whether written or spoken is nonexistant so far. Somehow I don't think my vocabulary knowledge of other languages is going to be so helpful this time, so I'm quite looking forward to the challenge of Welsh.

I'm currently in Gwlad Groeg but coming to the UK soon, and I hope to find a course with other speakers. I'll be starting on the Internet for now, though.

alexpolismum Sat 03-Mar-12 15:17:46

Having listened to my first lesson on Say Something in Welsh, I can now say:

dw i'n hoffi Cymraeg.

smile

mamas12 Sat 03-Mar-12 15:36:25

yey
Wait till you get to
Vicar Port Talbot ydw i
and
Capten tim rugby ydw i
They're gret

alexpolismum Sat 03-Mar-12 15:53:59

I don't need a lesson for that! I can see what they must mean - I'm the vicar of Port Talbot and I'm the rugby team captain. smile

I'm quite pleased with Say Something in Welsh, it seems like a good course to get you started. I'm using some other materials too to see how to spell things.

TwllBach Sat 03-Mar-12 18:03:05

P'nawn da! Ga i join hefyd?

I'm in north Wales and need to be fluent to teach here really grin dwi'n caru Cymraeg, a dwi'n trio i dysgu, ond dwi'n meddwl a thread like this could really help!