My sister had failed IVF

(5 Posts)
ZingDramaQueenOfSheeba Wed 02-Nov-16 14:57:33

She's just rung me and told me that the blood test showed basically no hcg hormones (day 13 from implantation) so that's considered a failed attempt.
She's distraught, undersandably.

I tried to comfort her the best I could but I just don't know what to say or do. (I live in England, she in Hungary so not like I can be there physically).

I have no personal experience in infertility and would like to know how best I could support her, ie what I should never say or do, what's useful & helpful.
I'm so sorry for anyone who is also struggling and experienced this particular hell & and I really hope I'm not offending anyone, in any wsy.
But I need help to be able to give her great support so I thought people who have experience might be able to advise me.
(If anyone thinks this is inappropriate please let me know and I'll ask this thread to be delete. I really don't know if my question is ok or not! )

thewideeyedpea Wed 02-Nov-16 15:00:48

I have no experience either and no useful advice but you sound like a lovely, caring sister and I'm sure you just being there for her is a massive comfort.

AnneLovesGilbert Wed 02-Nov-16 15:17:21

I'm sure other people will be along with good advice, but I agree with pea, I'm sure that just being there for her, on the phone, by text, email, so she knows she can lean on you if she needs to, is the best thing you can do.

My instinct would be don't try and make her feel better as I'm not sure that will be possible at this point, but tell her you know it sucks and is heartbreaking and that whatever she needs you'll be there for. Tell her you love her and are keeping her and her partner if she has one close in your heart.

AngelicaSchuyler Thu 03-Nov-16 09:57:45