AIBU (wrong board, I know) to think that correlation does not imply causation?

(14 Posts)
stealthsquiggle Wed 20-Apr-16 12:19:57

I heard this report (titled "after school clubs 'boost poorer pupils' results") on the radio this morning

Surely this could be spectacularly missing the point? Is it not at least as likely that there is a strong correlation between those low income parents and children who are motivated to join and persist with after school activities and those who are also motivated when it comes to academic results, rather than that attending an after school football session improves the results of a child who would otherwise struggle confused?

Or is it me who has missed the point? I admit I am not an expert by any means and have not read the original research, just the BBC coverage of it.

SomedayMyPrinceWillCome Wed 20-Apr-16 12:26:02

I thought exactly the same

TheSpottedZebra Wed 20-Apr-16 12:28:52

So many yeses. It's just shoddy journalism and poor thinking, isn't it?
NB I have not actually read the report eithet, so they may have come to that conclusion.

Nicky333 Wed 20-Apr-16 12:28:52

Not really related, but a funny website to look at regarding spurious correlations: tylervigen.com/spurious-correlations

stealthsquiggle Wed 20-Apr-16 12:35:00

I love those Tyler Vigen quotes.

We may be a little obsessive about this in our household. My 13yo is familiar with the phrase "correlation does not imply causation" and is a big fan of "more or less" on R4, both due to parental brainwashing influence blush

Nicky333 Wed 20-Apr-16 14:15:28

Good parenting skills! Love it!

foragogo Wed 20-Apr-16 14:18:48

7/800 people a year die getting tangled in their bedsheets?!!!

OddBoots Wed 20-Apr-16 14:23:00