Liquid nitrogen cocktail warning

(16 Posts)
meditrina Wed 31-Oct-12 12:36:53

Just thought I'd give this a little Hallowe'en bump, in case anyone (ort heir teen DC) missed the story first time round. Take care with spooky cocktails!

halloweeneyqueeney Mon 15-Oct-12 16:31:22

We knew what was causing it, but assumed that by the time it was placed on front of us with a straw plonked in it it wasn't as dangerous as it was where it was stored.

why would you NOT think you can drink your drink?

socharlotte Mon 15-Oct-12 14:02:36

I wonder what you thought was creating the misty effect ? Just out of curiosity

halloweeneyqueeney Mon 15-Oct-12 12:50:15

I have a science degree, and have consumed it when out with uni friends (who actually work in science unlike me) because I guess we don't expect to be served ingredients that aren't fit for human consumption!

SamSmalaidh Mon 15-Oct-12 12:44:37

I, with half a brain, didn't really know what liquid nitrogen was and had no idea of it's boiling point until this story, and if a barman serves me a cocktail I assume it is for drinking.

socharlotte Mon 15-Oct-12 12:37:37

Who, with half a brain, would consume liquid nitrogen -200C boiling point!!

meditrina Mon 08-Oct-12 17:45:51
halloweeneyqueeney Mon 08-Oct-12 15:56:34

I've had fancy cocktails with liquid nitrogen smoke before and noone ever told me to wait until all the smoke had gone before drinking! not in busy bars either, in quiet fancy places where you get lots of attention from servers/bar men

SamSmalaidh Mon 08-Oct-12 15:53:45

Horrendous story, that poor girl - of course she would assume that any drink sold to her was safe!

I can understand using liquid nitrogen to freeze things but actually putting in a drink is madness - so dangerous.