Home ed whilst travelling

(14 Posts)
uhoh1973 Fri 29-Jul-16 08:41:11

We are thinking of taking an extended holiday next year for 4 months. During this time we would home ed DCs.

Has anyone tried this? Reasonably straightforward? What are the pitfalls?

tireddotcom72 Fri 29-Jul-16 08:50:52

I work in a school with several traveller families who will take children out for months at a time. When they are going to let teachers know when they will go and be back and teachers put together packs of work the families can do with the children so when they return to school they don't have gaps in the curriculum for eg child in my class missed unit on growing plants so he was asked to grow a plant and keep a diary of it (year 1 ) speak to their teachers and ask them what you can do

uhoh1973 Fri 29-Jul-16 09:03:00

Would it be a major pita for the school I'd DC1 missed SATS in year 2 or the school won't be fussed?

Saracen Sat 30-Jul-16 21:36:05

Main pitfall is that your children's school places will not be held for them. The school has no discretion to do this. You'll have to deregister them from school and hope there are vacancies when you return. You could check now whether their year groups are full and if not, how many spaces there are. That would help you to assess the chances of getting them back in to their current school on your return. If there is no space for them, then you'd either have to carry on HEing or send them to a different school.

Note that the school might already be over capacity now, in which case a pupil leaving doesn't create a vacancy. That means that even if there's no one waiting for a place then your child wouldn't get back in.