Using a maths tutor for HE?

(9 Posts)
professorpoopsnagle Sat 23-Feb-13 17:50:35

I have been tutoring maths for just over a year, having had some time to raise my family. Previous to this I was a maths teacher and I also did a spot of private tuition. I'm really enjoying it, but I'm at capacity for the evenings that I'm able to work around my family, so the next step for me would be to increase my work that I could do in school hours. I tutor primary, KS3 and GCSE (3 different exam boards including foundation and higher tier), and one of my children is autistic, so these are the areas with which I have experience of.

As I said I'm looking to increase my hours so I am trying to put a feeler out for what demand they may well be for those of you that HE.

Does anyone here use a tutor for maths, or have done in the past for their HE children? Is it something you would consider if there was one local to you and suitable for your children? Where would you look for such a tutor and what would you be willing to pay? I assume (and maybe wrongly, so please tell me if so!) that I may have more chance finding work for those that want secondary maths, and GCSE if they want their child to enter the exam than say for primary level.

I understand that people HE for many, many different reasons. I feel it's important to say that I tutor for many reasons too, sure, a few of my clients want to increase their exam grade and to some extent the point of tutoring for them is a bit of hot housing. However, the majority of my tutees want extra confidence as well as revisiting and learning concepts; so my tutoring aims to achieve this through short activities and games, ways that are usually different to how maths may be learnt in a classroom environment. Each of my students is unique and it is important that their tutoring is what they want to get from it. If you were to use such a tutor, what would you (or your child) want from it with regards to the reasons you HE?