MSc p/t and working - anyone else managed?

(11 Posts)
Mags11 Wed 26-Feb-14 13:50:29

Hi all
I work full time, 2 DCs 6 and 8, single parent.
I would really like to do an MSc in Building but I would need to do it part time. So apart for the other hurdles (funding, current employer agreeing) has anyone managed to do this part time and juggle family and work? I am worried I would be out of my depth and by brain wouldn't cope...

Any comments appreciated

MichaelFinnigan Wed 26-Feb-14 13:54:01

I'm doing one. I don't manage to get much work done, mine's distance learning

Mags11 Wed 26-Feb-14 14:06:54

Thanks MF. How are you finding distance learning? I imagine you have to be very organised and disciplined. I'm not sure I'd work so well without the structure of lectures etc

mysteryfairy Wed 26-Feb-14 22:06:35

I did a masters, not science, whilst working and with three DC. Im not a single parent but dh works away in the week - i know this isnt exactly comparable but i did do everything at home in the week too and study late at night. Looking back I'm astounded that I managed it but at the time I just got on with it.

Crumbsinmytoaster Wed 26-Feb-14 22:17:08

Mags, how many days do you have to attend lectures for? Can you ask your employer to allocate a few hours for study time ad part of your personal development?

littleblackno Wed 26-Feb-14 22:21:51

I'm doing a post grad dip at the moment I'm a single parent with kids the same ages as yours. My employer is funding it but won't give me time off so I have to use my holiday.
it's bloody hard work and stressfull but doable. Takes alot of motivation and when an essay is in full flow I can just about get clean uniform together but not much else!
I'm hoping it'll be worth it.

Funions Wed 26-Feb-14 22:28:08