Note: This topic is for discussing highchairs. If you want to buy or sell highchairs, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards. Please feel free to report buying and selling in this topic. Thanks, MNHQ.

What makes a great high chair? Free for all all opinion post!

(17 Posts)
eeeksoexciting Wed 29-May-13 22:41:10

hi, I am a professional product designer who has just been given the rather fun but daunting brief to design a range of functional furniture for children and I have been looking through the posts here and would love to tap into the wealth of knowledge/experience/opinion you all have!

Basically I am looking for what you value from a high chair, who does it well and why, I am seeing lots of support for the Tripp Trapp and the Antilop, I can see you like them, but where do they fall short, what would be perfect for you?

And dont stop there, I am looking at a range, my theme is "products that grow as you do". I have my own ds and dd and know what it is like to have to keep buying as they get bigger. I guess this is the main attraction of the Tripp Trapp, any thoughts on how this could be applied to other products.

Oh and bouncers, any thoughts on those?! In fact anything you want to share an opinion on - sorry take that back, not really anything, please stick to products you love/hate/would love to see!

racingheart Wed 29-May-13 23:09:44

eekso - I hated Tripp Trapp as a high chair.

The curved front meant they couldn't be tucked in right up against the table, so food went everywhere. I spent hours of my life scrubbing pureed carrots out of the leather strap.

Tripp Trapp are strong and stable - good, and they look OK - not plastic and vile (also good) but I'd have loved them to come with a wipe clean tray that was actually slightly higher than a kitchen table (adjustable maybe?) so the tray could slide over the tabletop when the chair is tucked in and the child can truly join in the family meal, but without food going everywhere.