cleaning products if you have a septic tank?

(21 Posts)
5granddaughters Sat 01-Mar-14 10:45:40

I'm still learning! Can anyone help me decide how to make sure my tea towels and so on are hygienic now that I have a septic tank and can't add an antibacterial product to my laundry, please?

I wash towels, underwear and so on together. I have a lower temp wash for outer clothes and a very low for things like socks and items that either need a freshening wash or mustn't be allowed to shrink.

It's the tea towels that I'm anxious about. I really don't want to wash any higher than 40.

specialsubject Thu 31-Jan-13 10:44:50

septic tank or not, the only things that should go down a British loo are body wastes and toilet paper. No wipes, no tampons, no pads, nothing else. Doesn't matter if it says 'flushable'. A loo is not the same as a bin and food waste does not go into it unless it has been through a body first.

absolutely no neat bleach - if you use this you'll need the tank emptied frequently as it will just become a cesspool. No-one needs rim blocks or 'Bloo' - these are just wasteful pollutants.

as noted, no waste disposal unit. If you live somewhere off the mains drainage you should have space for a compost heap anyway. Oh, and no coffee grounds either -bin those or chuck on the garden.

there is a little bleach in dishwasher powder, so do the mumsnet 'half tablet' trick. Clean surfaces with jif and anti-bac spray (the latter occasionally), clean toilets with a brush or scrubber and a little jif if needed.

clarasmithh Thu 31-Jan-13 10:23:41

Septic systems require maintenance. For instance, toilet paper can be used, but some flush-able wipes cannot. Grease, soaps and cooking scraps may also plug up the front baffle or drainfield system.

pumpcoseptic.com/we-serve/

Theazak Sun 30-Dec-12 00:37:50