Craziest cleaning practices

(20 Posts)
wowfudge Fri 01-Aug-14 10:03:11

Okay - so what crazy cleaning practices have you witnessed/heard about, or is there anything you do which is a bit odd maybe?

Many years ago when I was an exchange student spending a year in a European city, I shared a flat with a group of other exchange students from various countries. One of our flatmates clearly thought the place wasn't up to his (or his mamma's) exacting standards wink. He bought some alcohol from the chemist's and proceeded to pour it all round the inside of the bath. He then set fire to it with a match 'to burn the dirt off'! There was a plastic shower curtain hanging over the bath; I can't remember what the bath was made of.

I am so glad I was not in when this happened because I would quite possibly have lost it with him - we actually had a cleaning rota and everyone did their bit every week and the bath was not dirty.

YouHaveBeenOutbid Sun 03-Aug-14 15:49:21

Ha ha - an old flatmate of mine couldn't be bothered scrubbing a saucepan so filled it with washing up liquid and put it in the oven. He set it as hot as it would go and went out for the night. The smell was something else and the pan had to be chucked!

ColdCottage Sun 03-Aug-14 15:53:02

Setting fire to the bath to clean it?!? shockshockshock

Think I would have moved out. That is not normal behaviour.

wowfudge Sun 03-Aug-14 17:01:50

Now you see ColdCottage, I'd been there a number of moths before the bath burner moved in and if anyone was moving out, it wasn't me. It was a gorgeous place with lots of original features such as mosaic tiled floors in every room and was in a fab location. We had words with him after the incident and a mutual friend intervened to set him straight on a couple of things. There was a never a problem after that. But he was odd.

ColdCottage Sun 03-Aug-14 23:01:28

I can't believe this only has 4 posts.

thenightsky Sun 03-Aug-14 23:05:48