No Room at the Inn

(13 Posts)
SunnyL Fri 01-Nov-13 10:22:25

I'm a little peeved at the moment and I can't tell if I should/could raise it as an issue with my employers or not.

I went in this week to discuss my return to work in January after maternity leave. Since I've been away they have employed a number of new staff. There is limited office space and therefore one of these people has been allocated my desk. I've now been told that while I will be welcome back to the office in January there is currently no desk available for me so I will either have to work in the open plan with the admin staff (I'm a senior technical consultant) or 'hot-desk'.

Apparently my old desk is not available to me because I'm coming back part-time (3.5 days a week with a view to increasing this to 4 days) and I don't warrant a full-time desk.

I'm peeved because the person who has been given my desk is a) temporary, b) more junior to me and c) only here 2.5 days a week.

I've said the open plan is not an option for me as when I was a junior I had to work out there and it was incredibly noisy, distracting and meant my productivity was very low. I said I could do hot desking as a short-term solution but that I had my doubts about it given how messy my colleagues leave their desks. I said if they forced me to work in the open plan then I'd end up working from home far more which would make it difficult for me to remain integrated in the team.

Am I being snotty or should I just put up with the lack of desk space?

baffledmum Fri 01-Nov-13 13:23:35

There is an element to you being snotty, yes grin I am a manager where I work and sit in the open plan, goodness knows why sitting with "admin staff" is seen as a comedown. You sound archaic and out of touch. Put some ear plugs in for goodness sake and tell people to pipe down if they are making too much noise.