Wondering how hard it'll be to get back in (asset management) if I take a career break to have kids?

(5 Posts)
spinachandchickpea Thu 22-Aug-13 20:44:53

Hi all

I've 5 years experience in asset management as an analyst, all at the one company. Early this year I was unfairly dismissed. Trumped up charges about performance - my appraisals were good - they didn't even follow the correct procedure - I got what my lawyer called a good result in a compromise agreement (money and reference). The place has an appalling record of getting rid of women of my age, with the result that it's all junior women and senior men, so I should have seen it coming, but I thought that my good appraisals were enough. It was all horrible, but I've picked myself up and have been getting through to the last round of interviews so I'm hopeful that I will be able to sort out a new role. Recruiters tell me my CV is very good (they don't seem too bothered that I've left - firms have been making redundancies).

The issue is that I'm ready to have kids. DH is too, we'd like a couple if possible. I'm approaching my mid-30s. We were due to start trying when I was dismissed. I have 2 professional exams to take which will involve at least 6 months of evening and weekend work for each exam on top of a full-time job. The exams have to be taken consecutively so it'd be one next June, then another the following June. I'm now thinking that it might be foolish to be in a full-time job, sit the exam in June (which I'll have to if I'm employed), while hopefully being pregnant. When you're doing these exams when you're working full-time you're basically working 16 hours a day, six and a half days a week, for 6 months for each exam. I'm not sure I can do that when pregnant.