Working during extended mat leave

(12 Posts)
barmaid Sun 23-Jun-13 20:40:47

Hi

I don't know if someone may be able to help me...

I am currently on mat leave with an enhanced company pay. Due to the prohibitive costs of childcare vs my current salary with two babies,I would be paying min of £2k for FT childcare within a nursery and more with a childminder.

This doesn't leave me with a huge amount of salary left, so albeit I am a professional with a professional qual, so I am looking at evening and weekend options as we will be quite poor when my 39 weeks pay finishes.

As I will still be receiving £243 childcare vouchers from my comp until the 12'onths are up, can I work for another comp between the 9 and 12 month period?

I am guessing the answer is no?

Does anyone know as an alternative if I could be self employed during this time?

Much appreciated!

barmaid

You can do your 10 kit days but that's it - if you are caught working they can take your enhanced maternity pay off you.

barmaid Mon 24-Jun-13 09:50:22

Thanks, I was thinking more about working after all money has dried up.

As far as I know it's the same - you get 10 kit days and you cannot work outside that

slightlysoupstained Mon 24-Jun-13 19:33:00

Then follow the DWP - I was purely basing it on my understanding of the situation - I'll stand corrected if I'm wrong smile

Northey Mon 24-Jun-13 20:41:22

I don't think that that is what the DWP site says, soupstained. It is talking only about the SMP period, and OP is talking about the period after that - month 9-12.

slightlysoupstained Mon 24-Jun-13 21:41:54