Thinking of training as a mental-health nurse after 5 years as a SAHM. Any advice would be welcome!

(5 Posts)
lilyandoscarsmummy Mon 04-Mar-13 14:15:23

Firstly, I'm not sure if I've posted this in the correct place as am fairly new to mumsnet, so I apologise if I have! Really I am looking for advice or suggestions from fellow parents of re- training after being a stay at home parent for a while, particularly if anybody has done a nursing degree and their experiences if it?. Just a bit of background, I'm 29, have 2DC aged 5 and 2.5, I have been a SAHM for 5 years, working part time for 2 years inbetween children. I have a degree in psychology and began a teacher training course but realised it wasn't for me. I have attended introduction to counselling courses and volunteered with home start since being at home. My DS is starting pre school in Sep and full time school Sep 2014 and I'm at the point where I know I need to return to work, financially and mentally! I really want to use my degree and think I would l want to train as a nurse, probably mental health nursing. I have looked at local courses and available funding etc and it seems feasible. I just wondered how you go about volunteering experience in hospitals/ healthcare settings, would you apply directly? Also I need to consider the impact on my home life, I can imagine its a demanding course which I'm ready for but would welcome advice on how to manage study, placements and be a mum too! I'm a little overwhelmed at the moment and have low confidence about returning to work and making something of myself having been out of the workplace for a while, but I know I have so much to give and want to achieve something in addition to being a mum. Hope that makes sense. Thanks for reading and i would welcome words any advice smile

MakingAnotherList Tue 05-Mar-13 19:51:21