Request for flexi time from 5 days to 3 days a week has been declined - Help

(12 Posts)
mamanate Thu 07-Feb-13 22:46:52

Hi My request to part-time 3days a week from 5 days has been declined, stating cost due new recruitment and hand over which would mean an overlap. I want to appeal but I need some pointers. Has anyone been in a similar situation and what did they do?

BluelightsAndSirens Thu 07-Feb-13 23:04:06

What is it you do? How much training would a new recruit need?

You will need to prove a benefit to the business to help your flexi hours request.

mamanate Fri 08-Feb-13 11:40:55

I am an administrator, they already have someone covering my maternity she has been there a few weeks as the rest kept quiting. Training is not so much as the lady working at the moment did not require much.

BluelightsAndSirens Fri 08-Feb-13 17:33:16

How about suggesting a job share with the maternity cover for when you return?

mamanate Sat 09-Feb-13 10:37:16

I have suggested job share but they say it will not work as we need an overlap on the Wednesday and Monday for handovers with means extra cost to the company.

BluelightsAndSirens Sat 09-Feb-13 10:58:15

How long would a hand over take 10 minutes?

What about having a daily log for tasks completed and waiting to be finished so hand over is easy and then suggesting handover period is in your own time as a gesture of good will?

Sounds like they are not keen in being flexible with you, do you have a HR dept?

BluelightsAndSirens Sat 09-Feb-13 10:58:47

Sorry forgot to ask if your company have a family handbook with a flexible working policy?

mamanate Sun 10-Feb-13 10:29:30

I think a hand over is not really necessary as we have a system where we logg task that are on going, to be done and a history on everything but if they insist maybe half an hour to run through what needs to be done, I will suggest no pay for the hand over time.