Want to return to work after 13 years at home!

(38 Posts)
florapup Tue 22-Feb-11 18:14:44

I have been at home bringing up my children for 13 years. I need to return to work part-time and don't know how to start! I have no up-to-date references or experience or an idea of what I might be able to do! I am a qualified (if a lot rusty!) secondary school teacher but have no wish to return to the classroom! Any help or advice would be fantastic - thank-you

florapup Tue 22-Feb-11 18:24:40

P.S Forgot to say that this is my first time on Mumsnet - so, I hope I am doing this properly?!

Maryz Tue 22-Feb-11 18:24:50

I'll join you flora - I have been out of the workplace for 17 years and am afraid I am unemployable.

I can't afford to retrain (Ireland so fees are astronomical), and am not eligible for any free retraining, because I'm not technically unemployed. I don't exist, officially sad.

I will watch this thread if you don't mind.

florapup Tue 22-Feb-11 18:28:57

It's frightening isn't it! I too feel 'unemployable' - yet I need to do something as our economic situation has changed - all very worrying.

Drizzela Tue 22-Feb-11 18:33:02

Childminding?

I'm sorry that's my only idea I'm afriad. I think you'd have a lot of uptake due to your teaching background and the fact your children are secondary school age and therefore you wont need to take time off for them when youre sick.

It wont make you rich but should tide you over and give you some pride.

PonceyMcPonce Tue 22-Feb-11 18:34:49

I've just gone back after ten years. Have you considered a non teaching role in secondaries? Obv benefits but you might well be snapped up for counselling, mentoring etc?

Maryz Tue 22-Feb-11 18:35:52