formal assessment by a psychologist

(18 Posts)
FJMi Thu 01-Mar-12 14:18:03

My Daughter is 2. I was looking to take the next step to find out if she is gifted and how to help her development and an assessment by a psychologist with special interest in this area seems to be recommended. I emailed Joan Freeman and it would cost us £700 for the full assessment and report.
I was wondering if anyone here has done anything like this and what they thought of it?

I am new to all this because she is so young. So any advice or comments would be appreciated.

Thanks

I suspect this is going to sound arsy, when it's meant to sound genuinely curious but why? She's 2! Can't you see how it pans out? What do you want to do with the info that you couldn't do without it?

rockinhippy Thu 01-Mar-12 16:02:27

FGS - Let her be a child before you push her into being an adult status symbolhmm

& you maybe should read around the G&T threads, you'll find that G&T does not make you or your DC popular - sadly clever is something to be ashamed of sad - sad when they are School age, but at 2 YOU are the one at fault, not the system or less able, envious parents or DCs

& at 2 there is no real way of knowing your DC is G&T - they change so much & all develop at different levels - its money making twaddle & status for needy parents, enjoy your DC as a DC & encourage them in what interests them most, both play & intellectually or you are going to end up ostracising yourself & your DC will become a very miserable adult sad

PosiePumblechook Thu 01-Mar-12 16:03:54

Is your daughter reading or painting accurate pictures? Can she recite Shakespeare? Can she work with three digit numbers?

If not don't bother about the gifted.

Idratherbemuckingout Thu 01-Mar-12 17:39:59