Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications, experience, or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you have any serious medical concerns we would urge you to consult your GP.

What happens if you leave a mirena longer than 5 years?

(40 Posts)
akhems Sun 24-Jan-10 05:42:36

Does it still work like a normal iud?

teaandcakeplease Sun 24-Jan-10 10:00:59

Presumably you're asking as yours is almost 5 years old? I would go and get it changed if the hormones have run out on this type at the 5 year mark, as unless you want a baby, I really wouldn't risk it personally... Although I am no expert but it must be 5 years for a reason?

I have a standard IUD that lasts for 5 years myself but I will be back in that GP surgery asap on the 5 year mark wink

akhems Sun 24-Jan-10 10:34:47

It is 5 years old and I hadn't realised, gp reminded me last week. However, I'm feeling so healthy at the moment, energetic, sex drive back etc I'm reluctant to have another one in case it was the mirena that caused me to feel crap in the first place.

I had a copper coil years ago and it was horrendous.. I bled heavily constantly until it was removed, so I'm reluctant to try that again.

I have malapsorption issues so the pill wouldn't be safe for me, and I'm not sure about anything else. I don't want to be sterilised just in case we decide we'd like another baby in the future so I'm feeling a bit lost. I was hoping that after 5 years the hormones have worn off but it would still work as an iud.

I did read about a contraceptive patch called Evra but I don't know if it's used over here.

teaandcakeplease Sun 24-Jan-10 14:08:38