Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications, experience, or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you have any serious medical concerns we would urge you to consult your GP.

what is normal for blood pressure ?

(36 Posts)
jamiesmom Tue 19-Oct-04 11:36:49

My dp went for a check up with the nurse at doctors surgery Thursday and was told he has dangerously high blood presure and asked to come back this morning, he went back and it's still realy high, 178/80. Does anyone knoe what is the normal blood presure for a male, 33 years old, non-smoker, who rarly drinks? He now has to go to see the doctor on Friday

jampot Tue 19-Oct-04 11:38:36

I think a standard is 100 + your age (top number) over roughly half for the bottom figure

foxinsocks Tue 19-Oct-04 11:38:55

I think it is anything under or around 120/80. I'm not a health expert though and only know this cos dh's bp is 140/90 so we have healthy eating plan etc. (though we eat healthily anyway).

MummyToSteven Tue 19-Oct-04 11:39:51

sorry to hear that about your dp, jamiesmom. top end of normal is 140/90. bottom end of normal of is 120/70. a bit pants really that he couldn't see the doc today and has been left hanging till Friday.

jamiesmom Tue 19-Oct-04 11:45:08

thanks for the quick responce, i thought it was around 120/80 but wasn't too sure, have to wait till friday now to see what the doctor says

foxinsocks Tue 19-Oct-04 11:46:35

here's the blood pressure association page in case you want more info

blood pressure association

strawberry Tue 19-Oct-04 11:46:58