Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Does anyone have an individual tooth denture that you just clip in? Need reasurance

(9 Posts)
juicychops Mon 26-Sep-16 11:39:17

I'm due to have a tooth out Friday. .. 4th tooth from the front at the top. I have a denture made; not the one that goes over the roof of your mouth, just an individual clip in one. I've been putting it off for 2 years but really need it out but terrified of having the gap and the denture not working or falling out or not fitting right.

I'm only 31 and feel ancient having a denture.

Is there anyone that has one of these who can reassure me and tell me how they have found having one. Are there limitations? Does it stay in well? Does it look real?

Tempted to put my appointment back again

juicychops Mon 26-Sep-16 16:23:17

bump

TheSpottedZebra Mon 26-Sep-16 18:04:24

My mum has one - I don't notice it, and she's never mentioned any issues. And she really would!

Best of luck for your appointment. Hope others come along with more experiences.

WindPowerRanger Mon 26-Sep-16 18:11:24

My father did. It was completely undetectable. He never mentioned any issues either.

juicychops Tue 27-Sep-16 14:26:40

thanks for getting back to me... i chickened out and have now put my appointment back to the beginning of November!! (that was the next available one after this Friday)

so i can start mentally preparing for it now

MatildaTheCat Tue 27-Sep-16 17:52:10

I did and it looked very natural. It was a bit tight at first and when adjusted it was a bit loose. As it was temporary whilst waiting for an implant I didn't bother going back but I felt much the same and it was fine. Other than taking it out at night, then I felt old!

Heatherjayne1972 Thu 29-Sep-16 13:21:29

Sounds like you need to discuss this with your dentist before the tooth comes out