Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Low immunity/repeated viruses and colds

(7 Posts)
gottaloveascamhun Sun 25-Sep-16 10:58:01

Background: I'm a part time teacher and have 2 young children. In the last 3 weeks I've had 3 heavy cold viruses back to back. Very fatigued with temperature and fuzzy head, runny nose etc. I haven't taken any time off work and have managed by going to bed really early. Am now totally exhausted and tearful. I don't drink any alcohol, do lots of walking outside, eat home cooked meals and take a multivitamin but still am getting ill constantly. Wanted to take the children out today but can't do it as I feel too unwell again. Any ideas for how to break the cycle and get better? Maybe I'm just making a big deal out of nothing but it's making me feel really low.

CalleighDoodle Sun 25-Sep-16 11:00:05

It will be because youre back at work and children are full of germs. Rest

gottaloveascamhun Sun 25-Sep-16 11:05:27

Thanks for quick reply CalleighDoodle. You are right. Nursery, work and school gems are to blame. I feel I should be able to breeze past it all and get on with things like everyone else does. Can't stop crying.

CalleighDoodle Sun 25-Sep-16 14:34:29

The first two weeks of a term theres nobody off. A mfrer that is when everyone starts getting ill and being off. Youre bang on que!

FarAwayHills Sun 25-Sep-16 17:26:21

You are not alone OP - I could have written your post, except l don't work in education so I can't blame the germs on kids.

I'm so fed up and it's not even winter yet sad

gottaloveascamhun Sun 25-Sep-16 21:15:55

Well I feel a bit more rational now. DH got freaked by the crying and took the kids to the park all afternoon bless him. Peace and quiet was blissful. I had a nap and made a leisurely roast. Really trying to eat properly. Hope to get a bit of immunity soon, so run down and tired. Early night tonight.