Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Stupidly I have sprained my ankle. Any advice?

(6 Posts)
elephantoverthehill Sun 19-Jun-16 20:09:13

Last night my leg 'went to sleep' I thought I had better get up and stretch it, only I failed on the getting up bit. It is bruised, swollen and painful. I have been to A&E and it is sprained. The Dr said they will not strap it up as sprains heal better without, however he did say if it was troublesome at work, I might want something to support it. So my question is what is best; a bandage, tubigrip or one of those neoprene things? This has never happened to me before and I think I will need to get something tomorrow.

LIZS Sun 19-Jun-16 20:17:07

Tubigrip . Make sure you keep flexing it, write imaginary letters and figures of 8 in the air. Arnica gel can help with bruising.

BikeRunSki Sun 19-Jun-16 20:19:03

I am a veteran of sprained ankles. Be prepared that it will take several weeks to heal 3-6 is normal.

I take it you've fine the whole Elevate, Rest, Ice, Compression business ?

Keep resting.....

The hospital were right, no strapping is best, but I have one of those big blue neoprene things for when I need extra support, I didn't really do a 10K with a sprained ankle and tramadol and tubigrip for compression without support.
Rest, rest, rest but also do a bit of rotation to keep the range of movement strong once it starts to feel a bit better.

elephantoverthehill Sun 19-Jun-16 20:21:57

Thanks, I put Arnica on last night, but you have reminded me to do it again. I have been trying to do circles with my feet and I am getting some of the movement back. Paracetamol is helping but the pain just makes me feel really sick.

MariaSklodowska Sun 19-Jun-16 20:22:57

Have had many sprained ankles - rest rest rest (if you can)

elephantoverthehill Sun 19-Jun-16 20:27:34