Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Please help me get over sugar addiction

(17 Posts)
Shnook Mon 15-Feb-16 12:59:21

Am really good at exercising, find it quite easy to motivate myself and luckily up til now, that's been enough to keep me relatively slim. However after 2 kids I have a bit of a belly and I know that exercise alone won't shift it. Problem is I am a total sugar addict. I have never dieted in my life as I just don't have the will power - cakes, chocs , puds etc are my downfall. I need to try to cut down but I find it so hard - any kind of regime that even feels the tiniest bit like I'm depriving myself just doesn't work as i'm so weak with food.

So, I'm trying to do little things to stop me scoffing like a pig. These probably sound really pathetic but so far I've managed to cut down from 2 to 1 sugar in tea - I've been doing this for 5 months and I still don't like the taste but hey ho. Also, rather than choc bars I've started drinking those low calorie hot chocs (about 38 call a cup). Now I know they're probably full of crap and not exactly good for me but I'm assuming they're better than a Mars Bar. Any other tips on some baby steps I can take to cut down the white stuff??

MoonDuke Mon 15-Feb-16 13:13:40

I used to be totally dependent on chocolate, biscuits and cake.

The only way I could stop was cold turkey. If I tried to drop down, I still was eating sweet flavoured food and it just made me want more and more.

I got a tummy bug so didn't eat for 2 days and decided not to go back onto sweet food and it worked (not that I'm recommending getting D&V!)

I cut out fruit juice too. And when I wanted to snack I ate crisps or cheese. Gradually (within a few weeks) I wanted fewer snacks and my taste buds adapted and I no longer craved sweet food.

I still have unopened packets of biscuits in the cupboard that I just don't want to eat shock