Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Arthritis and exercise?

(18 Posts)
Icantstopeatinglol Sun 05-May-13 20:53:51

Just after some advice really as just been diagnosed with psa and although the consultant has told me diet and exercise haven't been proven to make a difference as its to do with my immune system I still feel it will help.
What sort of exercise do any of you with arthritis do that you think helps?

Minimammoth Sun 05-May-13 21:02:19

What does psa stand for? I work in the field of Excercise and fitness. My understanding is that if the joint is inflamed you would not work it hard. If it is stable then you will need to move it to keep the muscles strong to support the joint. Yoga Therapy would probably be good as it would be designed for you.

MarcelineTheVampireQueen Sun 05-May-13 21:07:46

Yoga tai chi swimming and walking will be the best thing for you. The worst exercise you can do is none. There is no such thing as an arthritis diet, that is many people claim cutting out gluten or acidic or dairy food triggers a flare but there has been no clinical trial to prove this. The closet thing is a trial commissioned by arthritis uk in relation to supplements that have been proven to help. You can find this on their website.

Have ra since age of 4 and run self management courses so an well versed if you have any questions!

Icantstopeatinglol Sun 05-May-13 21:46:16

Psa is psoriatic arthritis, I think that's the abbreviation for it?

Icantstopeatinglol Sun 05-May-13 21:49:27

Thanks marceline! I'm definately starting yoga and swimming as my feet are bad at the minute so trying to find things I can do. I've signed up for a 'barre concept' class too which is yoga/ballet, do you think that would be ok?

MarcelineTheVampireQueen Sun 05-May-13 23:12:26