Saving for my summer holiday 2014 anybody else?

(15 Posts)
shannonlouise29 Sat 16-Nov-13 17:12:03

Hi everyone I'm new to mumsnet and I seriously need a holiday abroad next year.
I haven't been abroad since I was 16 and this will be my first holiday abroad with my toddler she will be two and a half next year. We went away this year but just to butlins in May its was freezing and constantly rained,so next year we need sun sea and sand. Since I'm a single parent I will be going abroad with my mam so she can help with Lo and get the much needed break she deserves.

Is it easier to save up for a holiday once you've booked it as you know it has to be paid by the deadline.

I haven't saved anything in my pot at the moment as I am waiting until the rest of the bills come out next week. I intend to save at least 50 in my saving pot before it is transferred to my savings account.Every-time I reach 50 it will go into the account.

Tips are gratefully received as I basically cut back so much I cannot think of any thing else to save money on.

Summergarden Sat 16-Nov-13 22:13:15

Hiya, I'm just about to book a holiday to a Thomson family resort in Ibiza. Not till next sept so I'm hoping that 10 months gives us plenty of time to save up! I've set up a standing order from my main bank account to a savings account so that the money is set aside and I can't touch it.

Where would you like to go?

In terms of cutting back, I read a blog by Frugal Queen and she is very inspiring in terms of how to live well on little, especially her cooking, though she is way more hardcore frugal than I could ever be! Just google frugal queen to find it.

SoftKittyWarmKitty Sat 16-Nov-13 22:28:53