Are Thomson/other last minute deals good?

(12 Posts)
Vijac Fri 17-May-13 21:01:40

Has anyone tracked whether the last minute holiday deals are worth waiting for? We are planning to go away in 6 weeks time to greece/Italy/Spain. Looking for a really nice hotel on tge beach, ideally near a small town/marina. I'm getting itchy feet to book now but want to know if waiting till a couple of weeks before is likely to get me a real bargain. Does anyone know?

I'm a travel agent and we're finding there's not a lot going on lates this year unless your willing to be completely flexible. If you want specific dates, flights or hotel then you might struggle. I spent a couple of hours last weekend looking for any deal to Majorca fir a customer with a weeks notice and there were only a couple of hotels on the whole island and they weren't cheap.

Generally, if it goes really cheap it'd because it isn't selling and there's often good reason for that smile

Vijac Fri 17-May-13 21:18:53

Thanks. So you think I'd be better looking for a deal now? Do you think voyage prive offer good deals or would you go with a traditional travel agent?

landofsoapandglory Fri 17-May-13 21:19:07

Last year we got let down on our holiday 3 weeks before we were due to go. There was building work in the hotel and the next door hotel, so we wanted to change the booking. The prices changed daily, and TBH there wasn't that much choice. It was, also, a lot more expensive than when we had booked originally in the January. We were looking at going the last few days of the school year/ first week of the holidays.

If you are going in the school holidays I would start thinking about booking soon if the weather doesn't pick up here. IME when the weather is bad here more people want to go away.

This year we are going to Majorca with Jet2Holidays, the hotel is in the Thomson brocheure as well, but it was over £800 cheaper with Jet2 and we've got day flights instead if night which Thomson were offering.