Insurance for Europe with a pre-existing condition?

(10 Posts)
Weegiemum Fri 19-Apr-13 09:11:24

We've not been abroad for 3 years, and in the intervening time I've become disabled with a neurological condition which means I can't feel my hands and feet, have lost all my balance, need a wheelchair on somedays and never go out without a walking aid.

We've booked a holiday in Italy this summer - a week just outside Sorrento (I'm a geography teacher - got to see Pompeii etc though sadly this time I don't think I'll manage up Mt Vesuvius so dh will take the dc) and then 5 days in Rome.

I don't anticipate any problems, but there is a constant risk of me falling and I've already broken my wrist in a fall since my diagnosis.

I'm assuming a European health card thingy isn't enough? But trying to get insurance for a ore existing condition is well nigh impossible on a reasonable budget.

Any advice of good places to look - I've googled a lot but not finding much! Thanks.

specialsubject Fri 19-Apr-13 10:41:44

no, an EHIC is not enough. It will get you the same cover as the locals - so you pay if they do, and it certainly won't repatriate you or cover the costs if (say) you break a leg and need extra seats on the flight home.

tricky I know, but you do need insurance. Is there an association for your disability that might help?

AnneEyhtMeyer Fri 19-Apr-13 11:05:27

I use Flexicover - they have a list of pre-existing medical conditions they cover. I think I pay £2 extra to get the cover for my condition.

Fluffy1234 Fri 19-Apr-13 11:39:03

Post office travel insurance offers a policy for pre existing medical conditions.

landofsoapandglory Fri 19-Apr-13 11:40:38

DS2 and I have pre-existing medical conditions and we use Tesco for our travel insurance.

girlywhirly Fri 19-Apr-13 15:18:17