Paris newbie seeking advice on where to stay, things to do & places to eat

(17 Posts)
Rattitude Mon 04-Feb-13 12:43:56

sculptures, I mean

Rattitude Mon 04-Feb-13 12:43:42

The Rodin museum is also great on a nice day as there are many pictures in the gardens of the museum.

Rattitude Mon 04-Feb-13 12:42:54

Lots of shops are shut on Sundays but the Rue des Francs Bourgeois is situated in the Jewish area and most shops there will be open that day.

Rattitude Mon 04-Feb-13 12:41:42

I would recommend going to the top floor of the Tour Montparnasse for post-dinner drinks. Fabulous views of Paris from there!

If you like crepes, the best street is Rue du Montparnasse (which is not too far from the Montparnasse Tower coincidentally): it is creperie after creperie and they are all competing with each other so the standard is very high. Never choose fancy crepes though: the best ones are the simplest ones! (I am a crepe expert grin)

bunjies Mon 04-Feb-13 12:30:57

Ooh I like the look of Bouillon Chartier for lunch when we arrive.

whateveritakes Sun 03-Feb-13 22:47:37

sorry link

whateveritakes Sun 03-Feb-13 22:46:04

We liked Le Quai 21 on the banks of the Seine [http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g187147-d793627-Reviews-Le_Quai_21-Paris_Ile_de_France.html here]. You can't really tell if places are tourists traps or not but this wine bar has a good "only in France" menu (runny cheese and honey for pud) and appealing cosy candle lit style.
Easy to find and well located near a bridge and cheap but extensive list of wine by the bottle or glass.

Forgetfulmog Sun 03-Feb-13 18:58:47