Where I am I going wrong with looking after orchids?

(18 Posts)
AndieNZ Thu 22-Sep-16 21:44:52

I love orchids but they don't love me.

I keep the bark moist but never let it sit in water or get water on the leaves
I feed them once a week with orchid liquid feed
I keep them in a light and bright area without being in a draught or in full sun

And yet the flowers just die and that's it.

I've tried with more than one plant and got the same disappointing results.
I spent a lot on a particular gorgeous one of purple flowers which was growing in an arched loop.The flowers quickly seemed to drop off and no matter what I do, there's nothing else there other than the brown stem. No signs of any buds coming. Where am I going wrong?

iknowimcoming Thu 22-Sep-16 21:58:07

I am no plant expert <disclaimer> in fact orchids are one of the few house plants that I don't kill off. I put this down to neglect - I only water them when they look half dead about every other month maybe and I have about six plants with at least one in flower at any given time and I've had them all for years. I rotate the flowering one/s into view in the house and the ones not in flower live on a sunny windowsill, virtually ignored until I see a new shoot emerging. Not sure that's helpful or not really wink

ppandj Thu 22-Sep-16 21:58:40

Are yours outdoors? I am terrible with orchids and had given up, but we moved house last year and put the orchid in a different room. The orientation is now a west facing window but is not in direct sunlight much, even I the evening. It has come back to life! Interestingly, my mum's orchids have also thrived in a similar location. Couldn't tell you anything else that has changed!

WittyPutDown Thu 22-Sep-16 22:01:10

Sounds like you over water them. I also don't feed or water mine very often.
On sunny Window cills over the kitchen sink seem to work well.

MadisonAvenue Thu 22-Sep-16 22:01:46