Novice - Advice For Growing Fruit?

(5 Posts)
storybrooke Fri 15-May-15 21:54:00

Hi,

Any advice would be seriously appreciated! We have a south facing, rectangle shaped garden, bordered sides and rockery/half compost heap at the back with the rest grassed. The borders seem to be dry, clay mix soil but the back (which is partial sun, mostly shaded from the shed) is great from the compost heap.

I've got a couple of shrubs and climbers I'm determined to dig out of the sides and the back has mostly weeds and some flowers which will be dug out and rocks removed. My plan was to literally dig everything out (roots are making the shrubs/bushes incredibly hard) and plant fruit with a little veg patch (I'll probably just prepare the soil and raised bed for it this year and start planting next spring).

The plan was to plant strawberries in pots on the borders (Oops me and my wee man started-pic), then in the soil raspberries on one side and blackberries on the other.

Being a total novice when it comes to anything green, I'm unsure if I have any shot of that working? Shall I border the sides and raise the bed adding and mixing compost to improve soil? Is there a place I can get the actual plant rather than canes as tried that the other year but didn't work? I'm not really concerned with the raspberries/blackberries spreading across the borders as my kids would eat them all day and assuming if the strawberries take they're in pots so wouldn't affect them? You think that'd be a lot of work or are they pretty hardy and self sufficient? Sorry for the questions!

Thanks smile

Shannaratiger Sun 17-May-15 11:59:53

Watching with interest. Weedkillered the garden - mass of weeds. Dh has just bright a couple of strawberry plants from tescos and they r sitting on the windowsill being watered and looking at me. - any suggestions?

shovetheholly Mon 18-May-15 08:42:30