Novice, help, what can I put in my borders now for rest of year?!

(16 Posts)
flatmum Tue 23-Apr-13 09:00:20

We've been in the house 2 springs am the borders round the edge of the house look lovely for a month or too now with miniature daffodils. Rest of the time they look awful. Nothing else in there as far as I can tell. I meant to plant tulip bulbs but have missed the boat I guess. So what and when can I put in there for the rest of the year?! Without disturbing the miniature daffodil bulbs for next year which look lovely, briefly.

Also what do I do with the miniature daffodils now they are dying off?

INeedALieIn Tue 23-Apr-13 09:06:09

I am no expert, so keen to read your replies.

Each year we plant lots of geraniums in our sunny garden. They seem to require minimum effort and last the whole season until cold sets in. (Early nov last year). They brighten it up really well. Fuscia also provide lots of colour. Both need replacing each summer in my experience.

cantspel Tue 23-Apr-13 13:11:26

Do you want bedding plants or annuals?

leave the dafs to die down and wait for the follage to turn yellow then cut it off. It should be about 6 weeks after the last flowers. Dont tie them either as will damage the foliage and deprive the bulbs from the necessary nutrients they need to flower next year.

flatmum Tue 23-Apr-13 13:34:50

bedding plants or annuals? no idea? clueless! smile

i basically want something I can plant now, will look nice most of the summer and stop the beds from being empty once the daffs are gone and most importantly be relatively low maintenance as I work and have too many dc ....

geraniums sound nice? are you saying i could plant them straight in as plants in a few weeks once daffs gone? Would I have to add soil? Where is the best place to get them from?

cantspel Tue 23-Apr-13 15:41:07

Some nice bedding plants sounds what you are after. Preferably some which will self seed for need year.
Antirrhinum
Cosmos
Dahlia
Gazania
Nicotiana