What can I do to prepare for doing a PGCE?

(17 Posts)
Skyler Thu 10-May-07 21:04:33

Hello
My long-term plan is to do my PGCE when my dd2 starts school. She is two this June so I have a little while and was wondering if anyone has any advice of some reading / preparation / courses that I can do in the mean time. DD1 starts school in Jan and dd2 will start nursery two mornings at the same time and so I am hoping to be able to volunteer at the primary school then. I am conscious that my applications will look sparse though. I have a 2:1 degree from a traditional Uni but don't think that will count for that much by the time I apply. I am on my Nursery committee and toddler group committee but don't know how much that will help either. I want to prove I am committed by the time I apply by having done some preparation in this time off work.
Any ideas??? TIA.

WendyWeber Thu 10-May-07 21:07:06

What subject is your degree in and what kind of teaching are you hoping to do, Skyler?

Skyler Thu 10-May-07 21:11:21

I have a History degree. I am pretty sure that I want to do Primary school teaching, probably KS2, but I really want to do some work experience in a secondary school as I think I might be surprised....I know a friend who was and is now qualified teaching in a secondary school and loving it .

PanicPants Thu 10-May-07 21:14:58

Get into schools as much as you can to gain experience.

This is one of the most important requirements we looked at when I was involved with interviewing candidates for PGCE courses.

Either get a part time job as a TA, or become involved through volunteering.

pointydog Thu 10-May-07 21:15:44

Volunteer in school(s) as much as you can. That's the best thing to do. Your committees will def help - parental involvement big.

Try to get into a secondary - even if you only apply for primary you can make a big thing of having looked at transition from primary to secondary.

sound slike your on the right lines

WendyWeber Thu 10-May-07 21:18:26