Open university for 18 year old?

(18 Posts)
theredhen Wed 05-Jun-13 03:17:13

My dsd is in year 12. She's looked at going to Uni but seems put off by the traditional route.

She's now suggesting she works and gets a job at the end of year 13 and studies at home with the ou.

In theory this sounds great, earning money and getting a degree. I think the reality is that she will either get a part time job and therefore not really put much effort into her career for several years which won't look good on her cv or she will get a full time job and her degree will take many many years and she will probably give up.

She's like most kids and not always the most motivated. So I'm not convinced home study is for her. On the other hand I have read that many traditional degrees have only a few hours of lectures per week anyway.

Opinions please?

Dirtymistress Wed 05-Jun-13 03:39:59

I did my OU degree between the ages of 21-27, whilst working full time. I got a 2:1. It's perfectly possible though undoubtedly hard. Graduating was one of my proudest moments because I knew that I had really worked for it. My mother didn't think I could do it either, perhaps you shouldn't underestimate your daughter.

AdoraBell Chile Wed 05-Jun-13 03:56:47

Why would she give up? Also, why would working part time while studying look bad?

theredhen Wed 05-Jun-13 04:11:33

Simply because its very hard to be motivated to study at home. By her own admission, she hasn't bothered with revision much for her gcse and as levels. She has told me she finds it really hard to study at home and be motivated.

I'm wondering if working part time from the ages of 18 to 24 would look bad if the employer couldn't see a traditional degree on the cv? Obviously a traditional degree might entail three years part time working rather than 6 which is how long she plans in doing ou degree.

Also a lot of life changes can take place in those six years, and maybe they might stop her from her studies.