RSA Fellowship

(6 Posts)
gottogetdressed Tue 31-May-16 15:00:14

Is/was anyone a Fellow of the RSA? How did/do you find it? Worthwhile?

I got an email today inviting me to become a Fellow (apparently due to my "exceptional contribution" to the sector I work in - but probably more likely because someone I know nominated me (no idea who).

It's not throwaway money to join and not sure of the value - so any experiences/thoughts appreciated!

getlostdailyfail Tue 14-Jun-16 13:24:45

Hi!

What did you decide in the end? I got an invite too, and wondering whether its worth the registration fee? I'm an early career researcher so I really wasn't expecting it!

gottogetdressed Tue 14-Jun-16 13:39:04

I still haven't decided!!! It's just sitting there in my inbox, lurking, teasing me....

I found an interesting article/discussion on LinkedIn (https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/should-i-re-join-rsa-oliver-benson) which basically said - joining is not really (just) about the benefits, but also about supporting what the RSA is/is about - more like a donation to keep it alive?

But then I am not really sure I know what that is.

Sorry - not much help am I?

getlostdailyfail Tue 14-Jun-16 13:49:08

gottogetdressed, I'm not sure either!

I've just realized having clicked the fast trick link that you pay a £75 registration fee before you are accepted (so when you apply). It could be that many people wont get accepted (like me I suspect!), but have wasted £75? Doesn't sound right though, does it? Especially not from RSA?

gottogetdressed Tue 14-Jun-16 14:17:57

From what I understand if you are invited, you are basically going to get accepted - I think that you only couldn't be accepted if you applied without the invite. Bit cheeky of them if you have to pay £75 first - but I guess it puts off everyone just applying?

bookgirl1982 Thu 16-Jun-16 16:52:13