Photoshop/illustrator - brushing up skills

(6 Posts)
originalmavis Thu 24-Mar-16 08:10:43

When I worked as a graphic designer many years ago (steam powered Macs) I used the usual packages (quark etc).

I seriously out of practice now (can use InDesign and Publisher) and need to brush up on Photoshop and Illustrator.

I can't afford to buy these and fiddle arpund (need a new laptop so it may blow up if I tried!). Is there any online tutorials or classes I can do?

ShotgunNotDoingThePans Thu 24-Mar-16 21:31:27

Bumping for you as I'd like to know too!

Hay90T Tue 29-Mar-16 23:10:10

I've used sites like udemy and Creative Live for tutorials, they normally have discounts on them. and Creative live has a free tutorial each day so you can see what they are like.
I've only used them for Marketing not photoshop etc before though

H

PrimalLass Fri 01-Apr-16 19:23:25

You can get a month's free trial. The combine that with a Lynda.com free trial (the version that lets you work on files).

sportinguista Fri 01-Apr-16 21:19:12

Lynda is good, I pay a subscription as I do a lot of different stuff with online design as well. There are lots of online tutorials which are good and lots of good resources for designers online, I sign up for a lot which have hints, tips, keyboard cuts, social media sizes etc.

I also get a lot if blog sign ups which have great tips too. I've learnt mainly through experience and indeed fiddling about. If you have a reasonable knowledge of Indesign the tools in the other two will feel familiar.

If you are stuck with anything please feel free to PM me and I can usually help.

sportinguista Fri 01-Apr-16 21:22:00

Also Creative Cloud is a month by month sign up and you may find its quite affordable to get just the basics. I won't tell you how I get mine...walks off whistling and trying to look inconspicuous.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion