Generating more business

(5 Posts)
winkywinkola Thu 17-Sep-15 12:42:56

So, I was lucky enough to start back to work as a homeworking freelancer in September 2014.

It was one client who really needed a lot of help. Our relationship is that I'm very much part of her team. Any work that comes in, she always includes me and we get on very well too.

The run up to Christmas 2014 was really busy and since then, it's been fits and starts. Some months are good, others just not. I know that's the nature of the beast but I'd like to be more proactive especially now all my dcs are at school. I would like to be busier.

So, I've never done the sales side of stuff before. I work in direct marketing + fundraising. I'd like to approach other clients directly.

Are there are pointers or tips in doing this please? I don't want to make a pig's ear. It's something I would plan very carefully so I wouldn't be rushing in and trying to grab work, as it were.

Cookiecake Thu 17-Sep-15 14:01:18

I'm in the same sort of situation in that my clients work seems to come and go so I need to find more work. With me I know what I should be doing but I'm almost procrastinating about doing it. I have about 100 reasons why I can't do something and they are all fairly invalid really.

I think you need to network whenever oppertunity arises, if people you know then know someone who needs your services they can refer you. Also you could go to local networking events.

Do you know who you want to work with? If so you can target customers directly via LinkedIn or email. Make sure you look at their website and social media first and offer your services up as a solution and something they need.

You also need to ensure people can find you, what's your web presence like? Do you have a website, or social media/LinkedIn. Make sure they all reflect your business and appeal to your audience.

Basically the more you do to get your name out there the more chance you have at finding work. Good luck!