Should I dump this client?

(9 Posts)
MrsMargoLeadbetter Sun 21-Jun-15 09:06:04

Hi all

I'd appreciate some external input. A few details have been changed/omitted as you never know who is reading...

I am a marketing freelancer. I am working with Company A again. When I first worked with them I didn't feel the 'click' with the people, but it was a fairly short project which they were happy with my written output. It was early on in my freelancing and I let them push me on price, however, when they tried to get me to do some further stuff for free 'It could lead to more work' I pushed back and left them to it. I'd already had a number of free pre-work meetings, so I felt I'd give enough.

I have since been commissioned to work on a 2nd larger project. I have delivered some of this 2nd project (which has gone ok) and I about to start a report on the future.

I find my key contact very changeable and unclear. They don't acknowledge the change though, they just start talking like that was always the plan/direction which I find very difficult to deal with as it makes me question myself. They are also very time-poor which I know is the case with most people that use freelancers, but often they cannot see me for weeks whilst wanting things delivered asap....

I also felt they were a bit passive aggressive in a recent meeting (B). I felt (although it could be me being too sensitive) that some comments about being unhappy with how a previous meeting (A) went was actually how my key contact felt not the other staff who they said were making the comments.

I found the (B) meeting difficult, it felt there was a lots of dissatisfaction and digs. Also normally as the consultant I tend the lead the meetings but they did which I found dis-orientating too.

In addition there is a consistent issue about price and how long things take which is draining.