Freelancers - do you charge for meetings with clients?

(11 Posts)
sara11272 Tue 27-May-14 16:11:50

Just that really - I'm a freelancer and do regular ongoing work for one particular client.

Every so often they ask me to meet with them to discuss future projects. Clearly, the first time I met them, before they'd confirmed they wanted me to do work for them, I considered this a 'business development' meeting and therefore wouldn't have dreamt of charging them - but for ongoing meetings, should I be charging them my hourly rate?

I haven't been to date but it occurred to me that they might be expecting me to and thinking it's odd that I don't.

Does anyone know the accepted etiquette here?

Thanks for any thoughts.

Flexly Tue 27-May-14 18:25:29

Hi Sara - I think it depends on a lot of things. I hire freelancers constantly and would not expect to be invoiced for them attending a meeting to discuss a current or future project. However if I wanted a freelancer to attend a meeting as an 'expert' to input on something else in the business, then yes I would expect to pay a consultants fee.

How you outline costs in your quote can also cover you. For example, you could state that for a project lasting x amount of time, included in your fee are x number of meetings at their office. Anything above that would incur an extra charge (for travel expenses and hours lost etc).
What industry are you in? My experience is in media and creative so clueless really as to whether this is the norm in your area of work.
HPH. Good luck with it!

TalkinPeace Tue 27-May-14 20:49:53

switch to a daily rate : then the answer is clear

sara11272 Wed 28-May-14 07:25:04

Thank you Flexly, that's helpful. I'm a marketing consultant, so not dissimilar.

I think you're right, specifying at the start of a project would be a good way of including a certain number of meetings and then being able to charge for the rest.