Any proofreaders on here please?

(6 Posts)
Chicinwellies Mon 03-Feb-14 12:40:52

How did you get started? Keen to know if the volunteering route is really the best foot in the door, after a distance learning course? Am not looking to take over the world with proofreading & copywriting skills but am keen to give it my best shot.
I have a degree in English & History, A Level & GCSE A's for English, and 15 years experience as an Executive PA & Communications officer. Thanks

Punkatheart Tue 04-Feb-14 11:23:44

Go to the website of the Society of Editors and Proofreaders (SfEP).

MooncupGoddess Wed 05-Feb-14 14:48:47

Check out Louise Harnby's website, she's got some good advice.

www.louiseharnbyproofreader.com/

CocktailQueen Mon 10-Feb-14 17:59:28

There was another thread on this v recently - why not have a look at it? Lots of good advice on there.

Agree with visiting the SfEP site, and Louise is a friend and her blog is really helpful!

To answer your q, who were you thinking of volunteering for? And which distance learning course are you thinking about?

tuitiondevon Thu 20-Mar-14 07:59:51

Message deleted by MNHQ. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

Aberchips Thu 05-Jun-14 16:05:19

Hi Chicinwellies - I can't answer your questions, but I'm thinking about setting up freelancing in this area myself so am watching with interest.

I have contacted a couple of location free publications & newsletters about voluntary proofreading for them & also done some (more copy editing really) for an online publication who advertised on Gumtree. I don't think I'll do much more for them though as the spelling, grammar & punctuation was atrocious! Good practice though I suppose.

I'd second the advice above about Louise Harnby's website - there is a lot of good info on there. I'm also going to try & go along to the next regional meeting of the SfEP.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion