I have no marketing quals and need one, not a degree but a cert or dip

(14 Posts)
DottyboutDots Sun 17-Nov-13 15:22:31

Which would you recommend? I freelance and have landed on my feet somewhat but think it's about time to add a credential to my belt. I stopped education after A levels so don't have a degree and, tbh, don't have the time for a full degree.

Anyone have any ideas?

Twunk Sun 17-Nov-13 15:26:09

I did a Marketing Diploma from the Chartered institute of marketing - it wasn't too much work but a good comprehensive grounding.

DottyboutDots Sun 17-Nov-13 15:30:09

Great, i'll look them up. Is there a minimum qual for this sort of thing? Has it helped?

DottyboutDots Sun 17-Nov-13 15:30:57

Has it helped professionally, I mean?!

Fairylea Sun 17-Nov-13 15:33:24

CIM Diploma is good but to be honest (as an ex senior marketing manager for a large well known company) all you need are good contacts and solid evidence of your work (create a portfolio of work you have done for clients).

I have been freelance as well as employed and no one has ever been the slightest bit interested in my qualifications. I only have 9 gcses and 3 A levels. I never went to university.

Good luck.

Twunk Sun 17-Nov-13 15:38:12

I'm on phone so will reply when I get home. My course was paid for by my employer, so I happily took it, plus it covered a lot that he couldn't teach me (it was an ad agency and a rather limited one at that). I can put letters after my name though wink

tickingboxes Sun 17-Nov-13 15:45:54

CIM quals are well-respected and a lot of marketing jobs are looking for CIM membership now too. But as always, contacts and networking are going to be your best bet.

DottyboutDots Sun 17-Nov-13 15:55:14