Any PR / Journos? I would love some advice!

(20 Posts)
Saffra Sat 16-Nov-13 13:01:22

I have an online bridal accessories boutique and, to date, I have had some success with getting products in magazines (for using in shoots and product mentions). Other than the odd press release, it's mainly been based on press contacting me.

But, I'm now looking to step it up a gear, and want to send out a monthly email to target press (wedding titles). In the absence of newsworthy stories to make into a regular press release, what should I be emailing them?

Can it be a simple story (e.g. 'how to get this look') with product images, plus a link back to a longer version on the website? Maybe with a quote from me positioned as an expert?

Or, is that not interesting or substantial enough?

I will be outsourcing the work to a writer, but don't have enough budget for her to create multiple stories.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

ICameOnTheJitney Sat 16-Nov-13 14:48:58

I'm a writer and often have to come up with non-news pieces just for the purpose of advertising the business I'm writing about. I work with trade publications and also online....if possible in your situation and with what you're selling, I would link the press releases to current fashion news or fads....if a star is spotted in a specific style, I'd do "Lilly Allen's Bias Cut Gown...how to replicate it perfectly"

Or I'd simply do a blaggy email which shows one or two items "Classic Tiaras for Winter Wonderland Weddings" type of thing.

Saffra Sat 16-Nov-13 15:12:57

Thanks for the reply!

Do your clients achieve a good response rate with these types of non-news pieces??