is it stupid to volunteer when you could be paid?

(10 Posts)
themapsupsidedown Tue 10-Sep-13 19:11:26

Freelance trainer here, just finished PGCE (teaching adults). Always had good feedback/asked back for more. However, I have a very narrow topic base (don't want to be more specific on public forum) and, for unrelated reasons, confidence/health has taken a real battering.
Rather than waiting for the right opportunity, am thinking about offering myself as a volunteer teacher/trainer, partly to keep my hand in/broaden experience and partly to regain some confidence. But I'm wary of offering skills for free in case I get trapped as 'the volunteer'. So at the moment, not moving any further forward in either direction...can anyone help?

I work as a volunteer at Citizens Advice at the moment, full time and it's in an office where we are pretty much all doing the same job but only some are paid staff.

I am mainly doing it to fill a gap in my C.V, and for the experience. I don't think it's stupid at all, I would rather be seen to be doing something with my time rather than nothing.

WilsonFrickett Tue 10-Sep-13 19:19:16

Hmmm. That's a tricky one, isn't it? I have occasionally worked for free, to get in to a new market, but I don't think I'd ever volunteer in my field, for the reasons you mention. Could you do a free, short-term project? Or ven offer low fees? I just don't think it will be easy to get paid if you've worked for free on any sort of regular basis.

themapsupsidedown Tue 10-Sep-13 19:28:13

Thanks both. Wilson, I get your drift (it's similar to mine). The problem is, the opportunities I'm looking at are voluntary, so they would look askance if I asked them for payment. But I'm stuck in the Catch 20/20 of having good training skills but insufficient subject base. I've tried finding orgs that want you to deliver their stuff - no luck so far...

WilsonFrickett Tue 10-Sep-13 20:07:47