Sub-contracting/pass ing on work to an 'associate'

(4 Posts)
sara11272 Thu 27-Jun-13 13:08:10

Hello - after some advice/etiquette, please.

I'm a freelance marketing consultant/copywriter. At the moment I'm swamped with work (nice problem to have, so I shouldn't complain, though I probably will!)

I was wondering if the work I do for one of my clients, in particular, I might be able to give to a former colleague, who's a friend, when I'm swamped (obviously I'd ask the client first if they were ok with it).

She'd be happy to do it - but I have no idea how the charging would work in this sort of scenario. I charge £40 per hour; I know my friend, who is also freelance in a related field, earns quite a bit less, so wouldn't be expecting £40 from any work I gave her (and presumably would be also expecting that I take a cut of the money). How much would you typically keep and how much would you pay the person you sub-contract to? Is there a standard or typical %?

Any advice welcome, also any ideas on how to pitch this to the client (who has effectively bought 'me' and not my business, iyswim) would be v gratefully received.

Thank you.

MrsMargoLeadbetter Thu 27-Jun-13 19:12:15

Well done on being so busy!

From my experience I think there are 2 approaches.

1) You sub-contract the work, so ask potential associate for their proposal ensuring that the work is under your rate. The pitch to the client is then it is £x to deliver y which includes work delivered by associate.

If you can I'd avoid going into specifics about what you pay them and who is doing what. If you are still the main supplier, the finished work will go through you anyway, so any deliverables are signed off by you as happens now.

I am concerned about obviously including those with lower rates in my proposals as I am concerned it encourages the client to question my rate.