Confidence and the self-employed (do I need NLP or something?)

(27 Posts)
windsweptcoast Mon 11-Feb-13 12:30:07

I have been working for myself for 2 years, and have managed well; constant supply of work, some well paid, some business development. The thing is, I quite often suffer with a huge lack of confidence in myself, and my abilities. I have a little script in my head that goes 'they will find out you're no good, and where will that get you?' or 'you'll just make it worse, you know'. Unreasonably, I think, because I have great feedback from clients, and on good days I know I'm good at what I do. But I don't really believe that I'm good at it, iyswim. This is becoming a problem; my clients need me to believe that I'm good at what I do and it's preventing a reasonable business becoming a really great one. I would also like to tackle this because it's not making me happy, while I know being effective in my work will. Can anyone share any tips for self-belief? Wondering if NLP would help? TIA.

I sing a very embarrassing song I made up called "the amazing song" which is about how amazing I am, before I have to do something I'm nervous about (like phoning potential customers or performing on stage).
After the amazing song I hit my embarrassment threshold and appear confident, as my nerves have settled. Try it!

MrsMargoLeadbetter Mon 11-Feb-13 15:00:21

Sorry to hear of your lack of confidence windswept, but congrats on growing your business to date. No small achievement in a recession.

Has something changed recently or is it a growing issue that you have now decided you want to address?

NLP or a business coach may well be the answer...

However I would say that both on this board and in RL I know that lots of freelancers/SME owners (including me!) who feel as you do. So not sure it if it is you, or part of the game of doing your own thing.

I hate to say (and may well get flamed!) but I also wonder if this can typically be a more female issue than male.