How to fit in 2 hours freelance work a day

(8 Posts)
newtofreelance Mon 22-Oct-12 19:10:58

Hi All!
I am new to all of this and have secured 2 hours work a day I can do from home (admin work from a friend that involves emails and telephone calls so needs to be done in office hours). I have a 2 year old with a normal kind of todder routine. E.g. up at 7am, no nap anymore but a 1 hour quiet time after lunch, and bed at 7pm. How can I fit 2 hours freelance work in a day to my routine without childcare? I know some people will say it can't be done, but I my DD is very laid back. I won't need to fit in much housework a day as we live in a small flat that seems to keep clean without doing much so hopefully that is a bonus.

Thanks in advance

scootle Tue 23-Oct-12 10:45:02

I'd do one hour during her quiet time, when you can tell her that mummy is working, and the other after bedtime.

newtofreelance Tue 23-Oct-12 13:13:22

I can't do after bedtime as it has to be done in office hours (it is all phonecalls and emails). Do you think 2 hours of quiet time would be too much?

MrsMargoLeadbetter Tue 23-Oct-12 14:25:52

Well done on securing the work.

You know your child best, I guess the main question is will your DC happily watch TV for 2 hours during the day? And will they do that without interuptting you. You might find that whilst they'll happily sit for an hour whilst you are pottering, but as soon as they realise your attention is on the PC they leave the TV and come hassling. This may get worse the older they get. I talk from experience here!

If they do interupt, what was an hour in the am, could be drawn out over 3 hours etc. You will need to time your time to ensure that you charge your client what you do.

And calls with a little voice in the background isn't ideal and I guess not what your client is expecting.

There are people on here who manage to work without childcare but I believe that is because they mainly work/top up in the evening.