I'm going to cook everything from scratch this week

(16 Posts)
CadenceRoastingByAnOpenFire Sat 04-Jan-14 10:47:38

Does anyone want to join me?

I'm probably being really over ambitious as I'm a terrible cook but I'm fed up of eating and serving readymade crap. I think finding the time to prepare and cook it all will be a real struggle too as I struggle for time already but I'm willing to give it a go!

Any advice/support would be much appreciated or if anyone is in the same boat as me and would like to give this a bash please feel free to join!

I am going shopping to later to buy the ingredients (wish me luck). I've decided to start by making what seem the easier recipes so I've got: oven chips, vegetable crisps, houmous, creamy tofu dip, cream cheese dip, pizza, chicken nuggets, tofu burgers, banana cakes, flapjacks and oat biscuits. Other meals we'll be eating this week are jacket potatoes with cheese and salad and a chicken dinner. Breakfast will be porridge or natural yogurt with puréed apples or berries. Absolutely no ready made food will be entering my cupboards this week (and hopefully ever!).

CogitoErgoSometimes Sat 04-Jan-14 10:58:07

You're making your own chicken nuggets from scratch?

CadenceRoastingByAnOpenFire Sat 04-Jan-14 11:02:43

Yes.

CadenceRoastingByAnOpenFire Sat 04-Jan-14 11:06:27

It's skinless chicken cut into 2 inch long pieces, dipped in egg and then into breadcrumbs, cornflour, pepper and paprika. Fried for 3-4 mins on each side.

CogitoErgoSometimes Sat 04-Jan-14 11:31:10

(In the shires we call those 'goujons' grin) Sounds great. I always cook from scratch so probably not much use to you as a pom-pom waver smile But good luck

CadenceRoastingByAnOpenFire Sat 04-Jan-14 11:59:07

Thank you, pom-pom waving much appreciated! I think I will call them goujons too, goujons sound tastier than nuggets grin.

MoominMammasHandbag Sat 04-Jan-14 16:13:29