Vegetarian dinnder party- no tomatoes or nightshades

(31 Posts)
hotair Mon 30-Sep-13 16:18:04

Right I have to throw a vegetarian dinner party, but I cannot eat tomatoes, potatoes, aubergines and soy sauce. I am also intolerant to nuts and can't eat anything too spicy without being poorly.
I have no idea what so ever where to start! It's also my first dinner party, so nothing too complicated please, (although I am a pretty accomplished cook.)
Any ideas gratefully received!

TeamJesse Thu 03-Oct-13 14:57:36

Smitten Kitchen's mushroom bourgignon looks good too.

sonlypuppyfat Wed 02-Oct-13 23:21:11

Egg and chips?

Just remembered a lovely Meryl Streep salad- watercress, avocado, segments of orange or pink grapefruit, use the juice saved during segmenting to make a dressing with oil of choice, sprinkle with toasted pumpkin seeds.

hotair Tue 01-Oct-13 10:57:13

cream and all dairy is fine!
I'm leaning towards roasted root veg and cauliflower with halloumi or melanie's veg tarte tatin.
I thought maybe these yottam ottolenghi beetroot fritters as a starter

nicename Tue 01-Oct-13 08:42:26

I love polenta when its baked then sliced and griddled. Any nice sauce on top is good. Is cream ok?

HuevosRancheros Tue 01-Oct-13 08:39:13

Following on from the Ottolenghi suggestion earlier, these stuffed onions are amazing. There is a small amount of tomato in there, but I think you could omit it with no problem.

If you can get hold of a copy of Plenty (from the library maybe?) I'm sure you could find something stunning that would suit you all smile

Michel Roux does a fabulous veg tarte tatin which has red onions and fennel as the star ingredients. There's also a chilli, but you could omit that. It looks very pretty, would work with a good green salad for a dinner party.

ErrolTheDragon Mon 30-Sep-13 21:26:39

>Isn't red pepper part of the nightshade family?
no, its in the capsicum family not solanums I think. But I'm sure the OP knows if she can eat it or not.