Ok I'm a crap cook .. Help me out

(15 Posts)
Hellonewworld Sat 22-Jun-13 16:07:48

I can not cook and I'm worried that I'm going to end up feeding my children rubbish food so any inspiration or easy recipes and tricks are most welcome smile

MaryMotherOfCheeses Sat 22-Jun-13 16:09:33

That's quite a wide brief!

What do you feed them now?

Why do you say you can't cook?

Hellonewworld Sat 22-Jun-13 16:12:29

We mostly eat pasta, jacket potatoes , chicken breast burgers etc. I would like to cook more fresh food containing home made sauces and cook more meals from scratch sad

I think you need to start with a good, basic cookbook - one that explains things well, and takes you through the recipes in clear steps.

It is worth learning a basic tomato sauce: finely chop a big onion, and fry it gently in a bit of olive oil. Add some garlic, some chopped celery (if you like celery), and a couple of tins of chopped tomatoes. Carry on cooking, and add a good squirt of tomato paste and some dried oregano. You can serve that sauce as is, over pasta, with some grated cheese; or add mince that you have fried beforehand to brown it (then you have bolognese sauce); or add chopped, grilled bacon for another pasta sauce, or cook the sauce until it is a bit thicker, then use as the tomato sauce for pizza - buy bases or use a packet mix to make your own, top with the tomato sauce, then add whatever toppings you like, grated cheese, then cook in oven (gas mark 5/180 degrees c) until bubbling and lightly browned.

Get a griddle pan (the ones with the ridges), and you can make lovely char grilled chicken breast - flatten it with a rolling pin, smear a bit of olive oil on, and put straight on the hot pan. Turn when you have got dark stripes on the first side. Check it is cooked by cutting into it - if still pink in the middle, put it back on the grill for a little while. Serve with salad and crusty bread.

Stir fries are easy and tasty.

I can come back with more if you want.