So come tell me, what can I do with this chicken that I've never done with a chicken before

(44 Posts)
HotPinkWeaselWearingLederhosen Tue 12-Mar-13 20:57:16

There is a chicken in the fridge. It needs to be consumed tomorrow. I keep opening the fridge and looking at it. It looks eyelessly back at me. I go "meh" and reject it.

I'm not feeling the chicken love. I don't mind jointing the fucker, or boning it. I just want the bastard to stop underwhelming me with its chickeness.

Come inspire with stuff you do with dull chickens. Googles not helping.

snoworneahva Sun 17-Mar-13 17:35:07

Chicken is a bit dull - we make a curry and drown ours in spices or make a spectacular veg dish as the main attraction....chicken often takes a back seat.

BertieBotts Sun 17-Mar-13 17:11:13

I've just chucked some chicken breasts in the slow cooker along with chickpeas, lentils, garlic, onion, potato, tinned tomatoes and a load of curry paste. Smells nice. Vaguely hopeful that it will be edible.

chicaguapa Sun 17-Mar-13 17:07:23

Chicken casserole with onions, mushrooms and Heinz tomato soup. Link to the Heinz website Cacciatore here

Mondrian Thu 14-Mar-13 22:40:59

Ok best chicken curry ever was made 2nite by moi, pretty chuffed with it. Made everything from scratch including ghee, chicken stock & curry powder.

OliviaMumsnet (MNHQ) Thu 14-Mar-13 11:55:08

Hi we have moved this to our food topic so it doesn't get deleted
Happy Chickening

Beer can chicken is amazing on the barbeque (if you have a big enough barbeque to be able to put the lid down on the upright chicken.) The beer steams it from the inside so it cooks through evenly, stays moist, and tastes delicious.

Suggestions... princess chicken from the MN recipes?

kittyandthegoldenfontanelles Thu 14-Mar-13 05:10:34

hmmmm...curry clumps wink

ripsishere Thu 14-Mar-13 03:41:08